Say Unkle!

So James Lavelle is back at it again albeit a bit differently this time. With a shift to a more rock sound, UNKLE is releasing their third album this summer (July) entitled War Stories. There will be a limited edition double disc the first one packed with guest vocalists: Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age), The Duke Spirit, 3D (Massive Attack), Autolux, Gavin Clark (Clayhill), Richard File and rock icon Ian Astbury of The Cult. And guest instrumentalists: Jeordie White aka Twiggy Ramirez lends his bass playing skills to “Burn My Shadow”; Psychonauts’ Pablo Clements plays synth on “Twilight,” “Morning Rage” and “Restless”; Nada Surf’s Matthew Caws contributes guitar riffs to “Broken”; Eagles of Death Metal’s David Catching also plays guitar on songs “Hold My Hand,” “Morning Rage” and “Tired Of Sleeping”. The second disc will be all instrumental.

Not only are there a total of 28 tracks BUT it will come with a 50 page booklet with photos from Joshua Tree , where the album was recorded as well as commissioned artwork from 3D (Massive Attack).

The regular version will be single disc but will still come with a 32 page booklet containing some of the photos and artwork.

Out now is the Nights Temper EP (a prelude to War Stories).

James makes his vocal debut on the lead single off of the album Morning Rage.

MP3: Morning Rage

No comments: